The tower of St Mary’s Church is renowned for its beauty, and its doorway is notable for its age. The tower is 99ft (30m) high, and is made from local blue lias and hamstone in the Perpendicular style. The Norman doorway is the oldest part of the church, dating from the 12th century. Its reddish colour is thought to be a result of the fire which destroyed most of the church in the 1300s. The church has been extensively restored and boasts a fine stained-glass window designed by Burne-Jones and dedicated to the nurseryman James Kelway.
The spreading yew tree in the churchyard was blown down in the storm of October 1967. Near where it stood is the white marble obelisk commemorating the Kelway family of nurserymen. Their grave is still planted with the peonies that made them famous.
The handsome lych gate was erected in memory of William Bond Paul by his widow, and dedicated at a special service in January 1898. William Bond Paul was a prominent member of the community, including managing the Langport (Head Office) branch of Stuckey’s Banking Company, and being elected Portreeve several times.
The church tower featured in a series of stamps celebrating British Architecture in 1972, portraying parish churches.
Click on an image to enlarge it and see the caption